• Call Today For A

     FREE CONSULTATION 

    1-800-985-1819

        How Much Time Do I Have to Report My Work Injury?

        150 150 Mitchell Horwitz

        The law in Illinois is a 45 day reporting period. You have to report within 45 days.

        However, many employers – if you don’t report it that day or by the next day – they often will challenge whether or not it occurred at work.

        In many cases, even if you report it on the day of injury, they will challenge it.

        So, the reporting is important because of the position employers take. They’ll treat somebody, in my view, like a criminal if they’re hurt at work. Like they’re stealing from the company, when in fact, all they did was suffer an injury because they’re doing heavy or dangerous work.

         

        • 0
        Mitchell Horwitz
        AUTHOR

        Mitchell Horwitz

        As Principal Partner and head of the workers' compensation department at Horwitz, Horwitz & Associates, Mitch has handled thousands of cases from arbitration through the appellate courts of Illinois, including a number of high profile cases. In a survey of his peers conducted by LeadingLawyers, Mitch was named one of the Top 10 Workers' Compensation Lawyers in Illinois.

        All stories by: Mitchell Horwitz

        Leave a Reply

        Your email address will not be published.